Complex of Hazrat Imam
The complex was erected in tribute to faqih Abu Bakr ibn Ismail Qaffal Shashi.
The site is comprised of the following historical monuments and shrines:
Muyi Mubarak Madrasah
Built in the 15th century, the madrasah houses the rarest relic of Islam – the Mushaf of Uthman – which dates back to the 7th century. Its authenticity was verified by the certificate of UNESCO in 2000.
Constructed in three phases during the 16th-18th centuries, the madrasah was used as the Board for Muslims of Central Asia and Kazakhstan between 1956 and 2006.
The mosque was erected in the 19th century and its surrounding site contains Tashkent Islamic University named after Imam Bukhari, functioning since1972.
Mausoleum of Qaffal Shashi
Reconstructed under the Karakhanids, the shrine was restored by Amir Temur in the 14th century, after the Mongol invasion. The lower part of the structure dates back to the 9th-11th centuries, while the upper part goes back to the 14th-16th centuries.
The mosque was built in the second half of the 19th century and is still use today.
The Hazrat Imam Congregational Mosque
The mosque was built in 2007.
Constructed by Qulbaba Kukaldash in the 16th century, the madrasah was originally three-story of which only two have been preserved and are in use today.
Sheikh Zainiddin Shrine
Erected in the 12th-13th centuries, the shrine was named in honour of Zainiddin Kuyi Arifani, founder of the Suhravardiya Order in Sufism.
The structure was initiated by Abulkasim Eshan in the 19th century.
Mausoleum of Sheikh Khavandi Takhur
The complex of Sheikh Khavandi Takhur dates back to the 15th-19th centuries.
Launched in 1977, the underground station of Tashkent was the first in Central Asia, with the total length of three operating networks, made up 29 stations that stretch to about 36.2 km.
Memorial Complex of the Square of Martyrs
The complex of was built in 2000 in memory of compatriots repressed by the Soviet Union in the 30-40's of the 20th century. The Museum of the Victims of Political Repression was established in 2002.
Tashkent Television Tower
Founded over the period of 1978-1985, the Tower is the tallest building in Central Asia, with the height of 375 meters. There is also a viewing platform at a height of 115 meters.
The sources from the 10th century bear precise information about the Chorsu Bazaar (also referred to as Juba, Registan or Eski Juba), one of the largest and oldest markets in Central Asia.
The Alai market
The market used to be a small trading stall. In 1928, the market was officially named the Alai market and is regarded as one of the main markets of Tashkent.
State Museum of the Timurids History
Built in 1996, the building consists of 3 floors with unique exhibits on the history of the Temurids.
State Museum of History of Uzbekistan
Founded in 1876, the museum is the largest research center in the country for the preservation and study of material and spiritual monuments of the peoples of Uzbekistan and Central Asia. Approximately 250,000 historical, artistic and cultural monuments are kept at the museum which was reconstructed during 1999-2003.
Square of Independence
Until 1917, the site was known as the Cathedral Square, in 1917-1966 as the Red Square, and during 1966-1991 as the Lenin Square. Since 1992, it has been called the Square of Independence. The square also includes an area of the memory for the victims of World War II, built in 1998.
National Park of Uzbekistan
Located in the central part of Tashkent, the National Park of Uzbekistan covers 69 hectares and was built in 1991 in connection with the 550th anniversary of Alisher Navai.